Dining Diversity

When sharing meals with friends in Southall, it’s important to clarify who eats what. In Western culture, a vegetarian will eat dairy products but not meat, with varied views on whether this precludes fish or not. But, in South Asian culture, eggs are considered meat so a dish that’s meatless and eggless (though not necessarily milk-less) is designated ‘pure vegetarian’. Furthermore, some use ‘vegetarian’ to mean they’ll eat lamb and chicken but absolutely not beef or pork. Add to this particular allergies and preferences, such as the pure vegetarian friend who’s allergic to nuts, the non-vegetarian friend who’s lactose-intolerant, and the friend who’s vegan, and you can see how catering gets rather complicated!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s